Dash Reviews…Boo! A Madea Halloween

How’s it going, guys? It’s the Dash Man with one last Halloween trick for you all. Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know that Halloween has been over for two days now…but to me, Everyday Is Halloween. Besides, if idiots can push Christmas to an early start and have last as late as February, then I can do whatever the hell I want to do on my show, so shut up!

Now, what’s the best way to celebrate the final moments of Halloween? By causing myself a significant amount of pain.

Hashtag…Critic Lives Matter.

‘Boo! A Madea Halloween’ is the 2016 comedy from Tyler Perry. The film is actually one of the few from Tyler Perry that isn’t based on one of his many stage plays. In fact, the concept of this movie was based on a joke from the 2014 Chris Rock film, ‘Top Five’. So, of course, Perry thought that it would be hilarious to make that joke a reality, knowing that people will see it anyway. I’m not wrong either, ‘A Madea Halloween’ had a $20 Million budget and made well over $55 Million in the box office, despite also recieving negative reviews from most critics. So, what went right with this movie, and what went wrong? Maybe the thought of another “black actor in a fat woman suit” has finally gotten tired and no one was looking for black jokes, family drama, and Christian propaganda in their Halloween movie.

Look, I’m just going to come right out and say this right now so some of you people don’t get the wrong idea. I don’t hate Tyler Perry. In fact, I think that Perry is a brilliant man. I’m just not a huge fan of most of his work. I’ve enjoyed some of his plays and liked a few of his movies; especially ‘Diary of a Mad Black Woman’ & ‘Madea’s Family Reunion’. But just because I respect the man and have enjoyed some of his work doesn’t mean I should feel obligated to find enjoyment from all of Tyler Perry’s movies. In fact, I’m letting you know right now…’A Madea Christmas’, I could understand. But ‘A Madea Halloween’ is the most unnessecary Holiday film ever made. The whole point of that joke in ‘Top Five’ is that there’s a Madea movie for everything and that for some reason, people are going to end up seeing those movies. I would say the joke’s on us, if the jokes in this movie were legitimately funny.

I’m familiar with the term of “sticking to what you know”, but there is such a thing as innovation. Everyone knows the whole “I Got Warrants!” and “Lord Jesus! It’s the Po-Po!” jokes like the back of their hands. When you do the same old schtick over and over, it doesn’t make a movie funnier, it makes it old and annoying. This isn’t a black thing neither, it’s a comedy thing. Hell, some of the most legendary comedians are black so please don’t try and throw that in my face, people.

Yes, Liza! I DID just go there! To be fair, the movie does have its fair share of naturally funny people in this movie. Internet star Liza Koshy is a naturally funny woman and she made me chuckle a few times. Tyler Perry, once again, can be funny at times. But ptobably the worst actors are the other young actors. Tiffany(played by Diamond White) and the other girls(played by Bella Thorne & Lexy Panterra) are the most unlikable characters in this whole movie, especially Tiffany. You could make the argument that this was the intention. But, don’t try to make me like her by the end. Especially when she was that much of a, well…they’re words that I’m “not supposed to say”, so let’s just say these words rhyme with “Witch” and “Runt”. Not the actress, but the character.

Look, I’m going to recommend this movie just because some people think that I should, nor am I going to hate on this movie just because it’s Tyler Perry. If you’re into his style of comedy, more power to you. I will, however, just say that not only is this movie not a good Halloween film, but it’s definitely Tyler Perry at his laziest. I know he can do good tings once in awhile, but this is not one of those times. Just skip this one and watch ‘It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown’. That’s a Halloween special that EVERYONE can agree on.

Shut up, Madea! Anyway, hope you all enjoyed your Halloween. Now, you can go all Christmas crazy…conformists. Now, Halloween may be over for now. But there’s always next year. Speaking of next year, there’s something that I’ve wanted to get off my chest for a long time now. It’s about time this guy finally realizes who I am.

Until then, Gotta Dash!

Rating: 4/10

Written by Shane Moose

A very special thanks to the three big F’s in my life(Friends, Family & Fans) for helping me get this far, pushing me to go even further and for putting up with me when I try going further than that. To hell with my limitations!

Videos & Photos:

Tyler Perry’s Boo! A Madea Halloween(owned by Lionsgate & Tyler Perry Studios)

South Park(owned by  Comedy Central Productions, Paramount Television & South Park Digital Studios, LLC )

Tyler Perry’s I Can Do Bad All By Myself(owned by Lionsgate & Tyler Perry Studios)

Nostalgia Critic(owned by Doug Walker & Channel Awesome, Inc.)

Leave a Reply

