Dash Reviews…Hush

What’s going on, guys? It’s Dash Jordan here and we’re nearly done with Dash-O-Ween. I’ve got a pot of black coffee, a half a pack of smokes, a bag of candy corn, and only three days left until Halloween…it’s Hail Mary time. So, I’ve been looking all day for a good enough movie to review today. But, I must say…I’m pretty speechless.

…enjoy the silence.

‘Hush’ is a 2016 home-invasion thriller directed by Mike Flanagan. The film follows a deaf and mute author who lives out in the woods and is stalked by a masked lunatic; resulting in a deadly game of wits. Released worldwide April 8th of this year on Netflix, the film has gone on to received universal praise from critics and horror fans alike; even gaining an astonishing %100 rating on Rotten Tomatoes. Could this possibly one of, if not the best horror movie of 2016? We shall see…

Uhh…thanks, psycho. So anyway, what’s makes this film stand out from other home-invasion movies? To be fair, not a whole lot. In fact, you could make the argument that the movie shares a lot in common with 1967’s ‘Wait Until Dark’. However, the very idea of someone with some kind of disability or loss of one of their senses and having to rely on their other senses and their wits to fight off someone who uses their disabilities against them, that is a pretty frightening thing to think about. There’s nothing completely wrong with relying on familiar territory when writing a screenplay. Nowadays, it’s hard to come up with an original idea. Nowadays, it’s all about what you add to your story and how to execute it that gives the film its originality. Kudos to the director and his wife(also the film’s leading lady) who co-wrote the film together. Those two were brilliant, and probably the hardest-working couple I’ve seen in Hollywood in a long while.

Speaking of the director’s wife, I especially loved the character of Maddie(played by Kate Siegel). As of right now, Maddie is one of my favorite now horror-heroines. Very rarely nowadays do we get ladies in horror that we actually care about, and are mostly in horror films to scream loud and possibly show skin. But I absolutely adored this character and wanted her to make it out of the movie alive. The character might have been done fairly well or failed with any other actress, but Kate Siegel’s delivery and expressions almost felt genuine. I mean, to the point where you almost feel like your in her shoes when watching. How Seigel hasn’t been in that many movies by now is beyond me. I actually heard that she’s going to work with Flannigan again on the upcoming Stephen King adaptation, ‘Gerald’s Game’. I’m confident that she’ll do yet another good job. Until then, I’ll just say that I’ve enjoyed every moment she was on screen. This was truly HER movie.

While I would like to like to think that this movie is more of a solo project, there are other actors. Granted they’re not in the film long enough to make any sort of impact as Maddie did. However, there’s also the film’s unnamed slasher(played by John Gallagher Jr.). It’s been said that a film’s protagonist is only as good as the antagonist, and this unknown prowler is truly a sick individual. We don’t anything about him, other than the fact that he enjoys hurting people. Gallagher Jr. is clearly having fun playing such a cruel bastard and you love to hate him.

Another thing that I feel really elevated the horror elements of this movie and helps you identify even more with the film’s protagonist,  is the sound. By that, I mean the way sound is handled in this movie. Aside from the film’s score, the whole movie is basically silent. Whenever we do hear something, it’s usually ambient noises; making the experience all the more authentic.

I’m not sure what else I could possibly say about ‘Hush’, this was truly a surprise watching this movie. Simple movie to review because of how well the film’s own simplicity was executed. There’ve been plenty of these home-invasion movies before, but I still can’t ignore the superb acting(especially from Kate Siegel), great direction from Mike Flannigan, a truly amazing script and great attention to detail when it comes to the sound production. This film definitely deserves all the praise and your attention. It’s on Netflix, check it out now!

That’s all for now, guys. I’ve got a lot more work to do. As does Mike Flannigan & Kate Siegel. Keep it up, I’m curious to see more. Until next time, Gotta Dash!

Rating: 9.5/10

Written by Shane Moose

A very special thanks to the three big F’s in my life(Friends, Family & Fans) for helping me get this far, pushing me to go even further and for putting up with me when I try going further than that. To hell with my limitations!

Videos & Photos:

Hush(owned by Netflix, Blumhouse Productions & Intrepid Pictures)

The Mask(owned by New Line Cinema & Dark Horse Entertainment)

Leave a Reply

