Dash Reviews…This Night I’ll Possess Your Corpse

Hey, guys! Just want to leave a little warning for you all. If you remember my review of the first Coffin Joe film, ‘At Midnight I’ll take Your Soul’, there was some pretty disturbing imagery but I didn’t have enough to show. This time, however, there’s a lot more violence and nudity. So, if you’re under the age of 18 or if your overly-sensitive, this is your chance to stop reading this article. Thank you, and please…enjoy the review!

Hey, everyone! It’s Dash Jordan with some more tricks and treats for you all, with Halloween just around the corner. So last year, we went into the disturbing and sacrilegious world of a truly evil figure. Well, I figure I’d at least try to keep some kind of tradition going…Screw it! It’s 2016, it’s time to offend even more people. Thanks, José Mojica Marins!

It’s time, friends. Let us return to the strange world…of Coffin Joe!

‘This Night I’ll Possess Your Corpse’ was the 1967 Horror film from director & star José Mojica Marins and is the sequel to 1964’s ‘At Midnight I’ll Take Your Soul’. Marins returns as the infamous Coffin Joe after the events that unfolded in the last movie and resumes his quest to find the superior woman to bear him a son to continue his legacy of blood, terror, and sacrilege. So, how does the sheer savagery of Coffin Joe hold up today?

As I’ve mentioned in the last Coffin Joe film that I’ve reviewed, the content is nothing to write home about for today’s standards, but it was some pretty shocking imagery for its time. In this installment, the violence, blasphemous dialogue, shocking imagery, and nudity is on full blast and manages to top the first film. Even in late 1960s standards, I was surprised with just how much Marins got away with in this movie. ‘This Night I’ll Possess Your Corpse’ is completely unapologetic, as it oozes with violence, atmosphere, and some of the most beautifully scantily-clad women you’ll ever see. You could tell the man was having a lot more fun with this one.

Now, as for the character of Coffin Joe. Not much has changed, really. He’s still a bloodthirsty and misogynistic sadist. But, I think I can safely say that the character has improved since the last movie. While he still has the same motivations as the last movie and we see the very murderous and disgusting lengths he would go to have this child of his. What makes this sequel different is the fact that we also get to see into the mind of Coffin Joe. Granted, it’s nothing that’s going to make you sympathize with the murderer/serial rapist, but this is definitely something that wasn’t touched upon much in the last movie. We find that even someone was disturbed and vile as Coffin Joe can also be vulnerable and weak. We see him constantly battling with his own personal torments and struggles with forces that one one could truly understand. While he continues to view himself as beyond human, he is still a man.

Don’t get me wrong, as much as I like Coffin Joe as a villain and has definitely been expanded upon in this installment, he’s still a sadistic, blasphemous, and murderous rapist. He’s enough to give Anita Sarkeesian Zoe Quinn heart attacks…not really a big loss on society depending on who you talk to.

Anyway, it’s even more glorious to see him get his comeuppance all throughout the film. It’s this level of insanity that actually leads to one of the highlights of the movie. It’s when the film is suddenly shown in color and showcases one of the most abstract and disturbing depictions of Hell ever seen on film. This scene alone was truly before its time.

Another thing I can say was greatly improved in this installment is that they actually give you characters that you somewhat care about. You get to see the sheer dread from the townsfolk when Coffin Joe returns in the beginning of the movie and you also get to feel some of the anguish that some of the characters go through when Joe hurts them of their loved ones. So when you see people like a young girl’s brother or the colonel rally the townsfolk for revenge, you actually get a feel for them. My only problem is that we didn’t get to have this in the last movie, back when Coffin Joe was truly evil and you didn’t get a glimpse into his inner demons.

Out of all of the side characters in this movie, I think the one that intrigued me the most would be Coffin Joe’s deformed yet loyal servant, Bruno(played by Nivaldo Lima). Characters like these have always interested me in horror films, think of Bruno as the Igor to Coffin Joe’s Dr. Frankenstein. My only gripe is that we don’t get much backstory on him. One minute, you want to feel bad for him simply because he works for such a savage. Next thing you know, maybe he enjoys what he does and even has his way with one of Coffin Joe’s “failed” women. Maybe we’ll see more of him in some of the other movies.

‘This Night I’ll Possess Your Corpse’ just barely compares to ‘At Midnight I’ll Take Your Soul’. But I don’t mean that the movie is inferior. In fact, this movie is slightly superior to the original. Even better acting from José Mojica Marins, improved camerawork, more sympathetic characters, a truly shocking Hell scene…it’s just an overall more gruesome film compared to the original. Thanks again, José! You somehow made yourself even more badass.

So close to Halloween, I can’t wait! Until next time, Gotta Dash!

Rating: 8/10

Written by Shane Moose

A very special thanks to the three big F’s in my life(Friends, Family & Fans) for helping me get this far, pushing me to go even further and for putting up with me when I try going further than that. To hell with my limitations!

Videos & Photos:

This Night I’ll Possess Your Corpse(owned by Cinematográfica Ibéria & Paranaguá Cinematográfica)

At Midnight I’ll Take Your Soul(owned by Indústria Cinematográfica Apolo & N.T.M)

Feminist Frequency(owned by Anita Sarkeesian)

Leave a Reply

