Dash Reviews…Night Of The Demons(1988)

Hey everyone, Dash Jordan here. Before I begin this review, I just to leave a small disclaimer for the following content. This article is NSFW, as it may contain images of nudity and gore. I urge some of my younger or more sensitive readers to be warned. Please enjoy!

Hey, guys! It’s Dash Jordan here with another offering of chills for my spooky little Octoberfest of my own, Dash-O-Ween! Today is going to be a fun one, guys. Let’s just say that it’s party time…again. Today, we’re going to have one HELL of a time!

Oh, Linnea Quigley…I’ve missed you.

‘Night Of The Demons’ is a 1988 horror film directed by Kevin S. Tenney. The film is about a group of stereotypical group of teenagers who look to throw a Halloween party at an abandoned mortuary, which just so happens to be the resting place of a demonic spirit; which the kids just happened to awaken during a séance.

The film was something of a financial success, making $3 Million in the box office upon release. While it may have originally met with negative reviews, ‘Night Of The Demons’ has since become a cult-horror classic. Why? Well, I can think of two reasons.

Okay, but seriously. There’s actually a few things about this movie I want to talk about. For one, the movie is just wrapped good, old-fashioned, 80s cheese. This movie is not ashamed to admit that it’s a product of its time either. It’s gratuitous, campy, gory fun. Even the music is drenched in the 80s. This both works in the film’s favor and hurts the movie as well. How many times have we seen dumb teens mess with evil forces and people get torn apart? Don’t get me wrong, it’s not usually a bad thing. One can admit that at the time this movie’s released, it wasn’t the most original idea in the world. Which is why I think it was treated so poorly by critics. This is one movie I would NOT recommend for any drinking games.

As far the monsters in this movie, while not the most original, they were actually pretty cool. I think that’s partly because of the makeup effects. The makeup looks so cheesy and so creepy all at the same time, which all just adds to the film’s charm. Speaking of the monsters, it’s a shame that actress Amelia Kinkade didn’t do much after this movie. Sure, she returned as Angela in this film’s sequels, but she was a surprisingly good villain in this first installment and I would’ve loved to have seen more of her. It just sucks that in order to do that, I would have to watch the sequels.

Not funny, Angela. Of course, you know what we did get enough of, and probably stole the show? That would be the character of Suzanne; played by the always lovely Scream Queen herself, Linnea Quigley.

As I’ve mentioned a year ago in my review of ‘Return Of The Living Dead’, it was pretty much required to have Linnea Quigley in your horror movie back in the 80s. While I basically mentioned how the actress is just…all kinds of spooky eye-candy, I didn’t really talk much about her acting. Sure, her acting isn’t going to win any Golden Globes or anything, but what makes Linnea Quigley so legendary in the horror community…among other things…is the fact that she just looks like she’s having the most fun in any role she has. I wouldn’t be surprised if she purposely signed herself up to do nothing but B-horror throughout the majority of her career. She knows these movies are hokey and stupid, and she sucks up every moment of it. Linnea Quigley is more than just a pretty face and body, it’s also her infectious personality and cheesy screams that make her the Queen of 80s Horror.

…uh, so anyway! Because of this movie’s cult status, it’s already cemented its legacy as a Halloween classic. So, maybe it was a little too early to review this movie. But I couldn’t help myself, I was just so excited to dust this movie off and talk about it. ‘Night Of The Demons’ may not be the most original movie in the world, but there’s plenty of gore, death, awesome music, decent makeup effects, the lovely Linnea Quigley in the flesh(as always), and enough schlocky horror tropes to liven up any party. If you’re a fan of campy and trashy 80s horror, you won’t regret giving this one a watch. Also, Linnea Quigley is in it…just saying.

…I plead the fifth. Until next time, Gotta Dash!

Rating: 7.5/10

Written by Shane Moose

Special thanks to the three big F’s in my life(Friends, Family & Fans) for helping me get this far, pushing me to go even further and for putting up with me when I try going further than that. To hell with my limitations!

Videos & Photos:

Night Of The Demons(1988)(owned by MGM, Paragon Arts International, Republic Pictures & International Film Marketing)

Gone Girl(owned by 20th Century Fox, Regency Enterprises & TSG Entertainment)

Hollywood Chainsaw Hookers(owned by American Independent Productions, Savage Cinema & Camp Motion Pictures)

Linnea Quigley’s Horror Workout(owned by Cinema Home Video, Legacy Features & Cinema Home Video)

Leave a Reply

