Dash Reviews…Corpse Bride

   Hi there, this is Dash Jordan…and you can bet your ass I’m back! First off, I would just like to apologize for taking so long to get this article done and say thank you for being so patient with me. Lately, I’ve become so busy with everything else in both my professional and personal life. Maybe sometime soon, I will go into details with what’s been going on with me lately. The point is, I just didn’t have the free time to do this review like I wanted to. So, once again, I’m sorry. On the bright side, however, there’s some good news. I’ve recently been noticed by Creators.co, and they’ve asked me if I would like to post my reviews on their site and this rather special review will be the first one to be featured on Creators.co. Thank you again, you know who you are. Now, I did say that this review would be “special”. Well, for those of you who are new to my work, IT’S REQUEST TIME!!!


Clearly, the fans have spoken. So, what will we be looking at today?

Well, it’s about time I get to talk about Tim Burton again! Man, it’s good to be back!

Corpse Bride film poster.jpg

   ‘Corpse Bride’ is a 2005 stop-motion animation film, directed by Tim Burton & Mike Johnson. With a budget of $40 Million, the film made $117 worldwide, as well as opened to critical acclaim from critics and moviegoers; making ‘Corpse Bride’ one of the most successful Tim Burton films to date. So, how does it hold up? Well, I think it’s worth pointing how much I love different styles of animation. The stop-motion animation for this movie by far, the best, some of the best. In some ways, even surpassing ‘The Nightmare Before Christmas’.

   Oh, chill out! Speaking of ‘The Nightmare Before Christmas’, I really don’t want to compare the two films as I would like to try and judge each movie on its own. However, I personally feel that ‘The Nightmare Before Christmas’ just works better as a musical. We can all remember each song from ‘The Nightmare Before Christmas’, they were all campy, demented, quirky and fun. Hell, I’m thinking of ‘Making Christmas’ right now, and this is August! While ‘Corpse Bride’ has beautiful music, I can’t remember how the songs go. I’m sorry, I just can’t. Go ahead, think of a song from ‘Corpse Bride’, sing it aloud. Go ahead, sing it!

   Once again, ‘Corpse Bride’ still has a beautiful score. Which is to be expected with Danny Elfman. Tim Burton & Danny Elfman are like a Peanut Butter & Jelly sandwich…if the sandwich was a goth kid…and had a skeleton…and the sandwich was stripped of its skin…and the skeleton of the sandwich started dancing. The point is, there nothing but good things to expect when Burton and Elfman work together.

   As for the story , what else would you expect? Tim Burton at his finest, a quirky, macabre-style fairytale. We follow Victor(voiced by Johnny Depp) as he’s arranged to marry a wealthy young woman named Victoria(voiced by Emily Watson). While the two seem to click, Victor has issues with remembering his vows. Then, through the magic of Tim Burton shenanigans, Victor remembers his vows in a nearby forest and places the ring on a branch…which happens to be a finger of a corpse…who comes to life…with the voice of Helena Bonham Carter…and takes Victor to an underworld full of dancing skeletons…and this is why marijuana needs to be legalized for recreational use, America.

  Anywho, I suppose I should give credit where credit is due because I actually enjoyed the cast. Anyone who knows me knows that I’m against casting Hollywood actors and celebrities to do voiceovers in animated features rather than casting voice actors who do this kind of thing for a living. However, Tim Burton and whoever was in charge of casting did an excellent job at casting great actors for this movie. I know, if a movie is directed by Tim Burton, expect Johnny Depp & Helena Bonham Carter to be in the movie. Can you blame him? Depp & Bonham Carter are excellent actors and they’ve always had amazing chemistry.

   The rest of the cast were great as well, with two legends having standout performances, Pastor Galswells and Elder Gutknecht; played by Sir Christopher Lee & Michael Gough, respectively. They may not have had a lot of screen time, but their presence is felt throughout. Especially when you consider the fact that these two Hammer Horror legends have left the World of the Living just a decade after this film’s release. Even in the final years of their careers, they still manage to give amazing performances. Thank you, gentlemen.

  Not one to end things on a down note, let’s end this review by praising the hell out of this movie. While ‘Corpse Bride’ may not be my personal favorite Tim Burton film and the songs in the film aren’t all that memorable, I still hold this movie in high regard. Gorgeous stop-motion animation, an original fairy tale-esque story, great voice-acting, and a beautifully haunting score by Danny Elfman, it’s no wonder why this movie is arguably one of Tim Burton’s best films.

Well, this was fun! Once again, I’m sorry for the long wait for this review and you’ll have to excuse me if I may seem a bit rusty. As great as this movie was…maybe it was a little “too good”. Meaning, I was mostly praising this movie. I need something that I could actually critique…but what?

Oh…right. Well, a promise is a promise. Until then, Gotta Dash!

Rating: 9/10

Written by Shane Moose

Special thanks to the three big F’s in my life(Friends, Family & Fans) for helping me get this far, pushing me to go even further and for putting up with me when I try going further than that. To hell with my limitations!

Videos & Photos:

Corpse Bride(owned by Warner Bros., Tim Burton Productions, Laika Entertainment & Patalex II Productions)

The Blues Brothers(owned by Universal Pictures)

The Nightmare Before Christmas(owned by Touchstone Pictures, Skellington Productions & Buena Vista Pictures)

Training Day(owned by Warner Bros., Village Roadshow Pictures & Outlaw Productions)

The Breakfast Club(owned by Universal Pictures, A&M Films & Channel Productions)

The Man With The Golden Gun(owned by United Artists & Eon Productions)

Batman Returns(owned by Warner Bros.& PolyGram Pictures)

Ghostbusters(2016)(owned by Village Roadshow Pictures, Pascal Pictures, The Montecito Picture Company & Feigco Entertainment)

 

 

One thought on “Dash Reviews…Corpse Bride

Leave a Reply

