Dash Reviews…The Witch(100th Episode Special!!!)

   Hey guys, I just want to put a quick disclaimer here for everyone. Today’s movie may feature some highly disturbing imagery. Fairly common for a Horror movie, I know. But trust me, some of the clips featured may come off as a bit too disturbing for some readers, even some of the film’s subject matter may push the wrong buttons. So for those of you who may be sensitive or are easily offended by horror movies, I urge you to stop reading this article right now. If you can handle it, however, then please continue and I hope you enjoy my 100th article. It’s all thanks to you guys, enjoy!

Hey, kids! It’s the Dash-man! I’m in a great mood today, guys. Today marks my 100th article on my site, so before I begin…*whew* Sorry, I had to hold back a tear. Guys, thank you so much for sticking with me. I know I haven’t been cramming out article after article like I used to when I started, but I just want you guys to not only know that I’ll always try to make as much time for you guys as I can, but I’ll always return the favor. Speaking of which, as I’ve mentioned before, it’s been a pretty long while since I did anything Horror-related. So…which Horror movie will have the honor of being #100 on my site?

Oh! Cool, you guys read the title! So why am I wasting time? LET’S GET STARTED!!!

Thou sayeth that thou hast chosen wisely…

‘The Witch’ is a 2015 supernatural/psychological horror film from new director Robert Eggers. The film was featured at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival but wasn’t released in mainstream theaters until February 19th of this year. With a relatively small budget of $1 Million,  ‘The Witch’ managed to wow both audiences and critics, as well as make well over $37 Million in the box office; making it both a critical and financial success for a first-time director. ‘The Witch’ revolves around a Puritan family from 17th century New England, who find themselves haunted by a mysterious evil coven of witches…or are they?

   Thank you, River! Anyway, this is still a very recent film and it was just released on DVD & Blu-Ray not too long ago, so I won’t give anything away. However, I will say that if not one of the scariest, it’s definitely one of the creepiest experiences I’ve had with a Horror movie. Nowadays, it’s as though the days of horror remakes and diet-scary movies with all of their jump scares and teen drama are slowly coming to an end, while films that embrace the very atmosphere of horror like ‘The Witch’ and ‘Crimson Peak’ are getting far more attention. That’s the one thing that grabbed when I first watched this movie, the atmosphere. The sheer ambiance of it all is quiet, cold, unsettling and threatening. The way a good horror film should be. Normally, you would expect there to be some kind of beautiful music score to accompany the film’s setting or some catchy little jingle that gets stuck in your head like John Carpenter’s ‘Halloween’ or Goblin’s music from Dario Argento’s ‘Suspiria’. But nope, ‘The Witch’ is actually a lot more quiet than you think, and the very rare times we do hear music, it comes out of nowhere and gives you right amount of chills. Other than that, the film is still very quiet and just looks beautiful.

Oh, and speaking of beautiful…

Nowadays, it’s hard to find characters in Horror films that I actually like and care about. Fortunately, the very small cast are all well-written and well-acted. The one character who truly stole the show for me, however, would have to be Thomasin(played by Anya Taylor-Joy). The oldest daughter of the family and the one who probably goes through some of the worst torment of the film, and we’re watching her trying to keep what’s left of her sanity as the film progresses and the lines of reality and imagination start becoming more blurred, which truly help you wonder yourself if what you see in the film is also happening or is all in their minds. Not to say that Taylor-Joy wasn’t the only actor that gave a stellar performance. Another character we truly feel bad for is the mother in this movie(played by Kate Dickie; who you may remember from HBO’s Game Of Thrones) who goes through a psychological endurance round of her own. Wasn’t a huge fan of the two youngest children in the movie, however. Much like the kid from ‘The Babadook’, I found the two kids in this movie to be a bit annoying. But, they’re kids, I can’t really blame them. But then there’s the son, Caleb. He was pretty good. Last but not least is the father, William(played by Ralph Ineson). This man not only goes through his own hardship in the movie, but he gives off such a commanding presence and has a very reserved personality. A very cool and booming voice to go with it also helps. A superb cast of actors!

  I will warn some of my readers, however, the dialogue is not everyone’s cup of tea. Keep in mind, the film takes place during 17th century New England and the way our characters speak in the film is very faithful to the time period it’s based on. Don’t be surprised if you can’t understand some of the words. I’ll admit, I had a little trouble getting used to it, but I also a huge fan of ‘Doctor Who’, ‘The Mighty Boosh’ & ‘Monty Python’, so I’ve heard weirder stuff. Over time, however, you’ll get used to it. I give them props for staying true to the world of old, it makes the film feel all the more authentic. I honestly can not praise the film enough. Robert Eggers, if you’re watching this, you’ve earned that Sundance Award for Best Director. I better see more stuff from you in the future.

No, I’m serious. Robert Eggers has a bright future ahead of him, all from one amazing movie. ‘The Witch’ is by far, the best Horror movie I’ve seen this year. Simple yet complex storytelling, nightmarish visuals, gorgeously-haunting atmosphere and some brilliant acting. It is an honor to have this film be my 100th article on this site. Seriously, ‘The Witch’ is amazing, go watch it! You won’t regret it.

Well, hope you guys have enjoyed the review. This time, I promise, you won’t have to wait long for the next review. Until then, Gotta Dash!

Rating: 10/10

Written by Shane Moose

Special thanks to the three big F’s in my life(Friends, Family & Fans) for helping me get this far, for pushing me to go even further and for putting up with me when I try going even further than that. To hell with the limitations!

Videos & Photos:

All WWE/WWF related images are property of WWE

The Witch(owned by A24, Parts and Labor, Rooks Nest Entertainment & RT Features)

Doctor Who(owned by BBC)

Leave a Reply

