Dash Reviews…Inside Out

Hey kids, Dash Jordan here. So, you wanna know how angry I can get? Just heard about the results on the latest WWE Pay-Per-View event, ‘Survivor Series’ and, of course, I was absolutely pissed off to find out I was right! You had one job to do, WWE! You could’ve done something different, you could’ve had Kevin Owens win the title and join The Authority, he’s the perfect new bad guy for your show! Instead, we get Dean Ambrose vs. Roman Reigns, Roman wins then loses his title after Sheamus cashes in his Money In The Bank briefcase, because NO ONE could ever figure that out! What’s the matter with you guys? Vince, Linda, Stephanie & Triple H ALL have Twitter accounts, listen to your damn fans! WE KNEW HOW THIS PPV WAS GOING TO GO DOWN! THIS IS WHY YOU’RE LOSING MONEY, RATINGS AND FANS, YOU IDIOTS!!!

anigif_enhanced-buzz-24515-1423170320-14

  Whew…wow, I am sorry. I’m very sorry, guys. I know I really lost my cool there. Yeah, in case you guys haven’t realized, I sometimes let my emotions get the best of me. Why does this seem so familiar?

Now this..is what I call different and original.

inside-out-pixar-one-sheet

‘Inside Out’ is a 2015 computer-animated comedy from Disney/Pixar a.k.a. Peanut Butter & Jelly Pictures. The film was directed by Pete Docter, who’s most known for directing ‘Monsters Inc.’ & ‘Up’. After years of nothing but sequels and spinoffs from Pixar(especially those stupid ‘Cars’ movies, and yet NO sequel to ‘The Incredibles’ yet.), this was actually a pretty refreshing film with a very unique and original story that’s…really not that much of a story. I’ll get more into that later. The film was a massive success, both critically and financially. But…some of us have been wrong before? I know what you guys are thinking? What does the Dash man think? Does this movie rival the likes of ‘The Incredibles’, ‘Monsters Inc.’ and the ‘Toy Story’ movies as one of Pixar’s best films? Or, does ‘Inside Out’ deserve a spot right next to ‘Cars’ & ‘Cars 2’ in the bargain bin of your local Wal-Mart?

tumblr_nxvobtfeus1up3k0lo1_500

   Okay…I’m positive that the story is amazing! If you can call it a story, that is. Basically, the movie is about emotions…that’s it, really. The colorful, color-coded voices in our heads; Joy, Sadness, Anger, Fear & Disgust. Sounds like the title to a 90s indie-rock album, I know. Anyways, we follow a little girl named Riley, as she grows from a newborn baby to a very emotional 11-year old. While I may not have been an 11-year old girl, I was a child. Looking back, this is by far, one of the most relatable characters I’ve ever seen in a Disney/Pixar movie. Then again, I’ve actually liked eating broccoli.

how-inside-out-expertly-fits-into-the-pixar-theory-like-it-s-not-even-trying-449900

Without giving away any spoilers, we’ve all been Riley. We’ve all playfully ran from our parents who’ve tried to give us a bath, we’ve all had argued with parents, we’ve all felt homesick when moving to a new home, our first day of school, the imaginary friend, playing a sport, and even some of the most bizarre nightmares growing up.

pixar-insideout-jangles

   Except I was never afraid of clowns…because they’re friggin’ clowns. Anyways, the best thing about this movie I have to say is the voice acting. Pretty much every actor in this is amazing, there is not one bad performance in this movie. The best actors in this movie being Amy Poehler as Joy, Lewis Black as Anger(perfect casting!), Mindy Kaling as Disgust and the underrated Richard Kind as Bing-Bong; Riley’s old imaginary friend. Much like Lewis Black, Richard Kind was the perfect voice for this character. I’ve forgotten what my imaginary friend was like, but at the very least, I hope he sounded like Bing-Bong.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-3155-1434934695-12

I’ve gone on about everything that’s good and unique about this movie. Notice how I didn’t mention the film’s villain…there is none! I do give the creators a lot of props for not going into familiar Disney territory. While this movie may not have a villain, there is one character who might as well have been. Sadness, voiced by Phyllis Smith.

inside-out-sadness

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t mind Phyllis Smith’s performance. In fact, her performance was good. I just didn’t like the character. Especially if you take into consideration that most of everything that happens is primarily her fault. Forgetting the fact that Sadness is an important character with a well-handled arc by the end, it’s the character’s progression that almost hurts the movie for me. When this character isn’t ruining things, she’s written in a way to force us to feel bad for her as one or some of the other characters mistreats her. Hell, halfway through the movie, Sadness almost made me want to cry, and not in the way the filmmakers intended.

e9168-michaelmyersbloodtears

I know, Michael…I know. Is this the perfect Disney/Pixar movie? No. Is it still amazing? Absolutely! One of the most fascinating animated movies I’ve seen in a long time; with great voice acting and plenty of relatable jokes that both children AND adults can understand. It’s hilarious, it can be sad at times and it has a very good message. ‘Inside Out’ is a great movie. If I was to compare it to other Pixar movies, I’d say it’s about a ‘Monsters Inc.’ and a half out of ‘Toy Story’.

giphy

  Ahh…I feel so much better now. I honestly had a lot of fun watching a reviewing this movie. Hmm…maybe I’ll do another animated movie. Well, until then…Gotta Dash!

Rating: 8.5/10

Written by Shane Moose

Videos & Photos:

Inside Out(owned by Walt Disney Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios & Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)

Dexter(owned by Showtime Networks, John Goldwyn Productions, Clyde Phillips Productions, The Colleton Company, 801 Productions & Devilina Productions)

Halloween 2(1981)(owned by Universal Pictures & Dino De Laurentiis Corporation)

Toy Story(owned by Walt Disney Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios & Buena Vista Pictures Distribution)

Leave a Reply

