Dash News…Female Link Announced For New Zelda Game

Hey kids, it’s Dash here with some breaking news. Recently, Nintendo has unveiled a new playable character for the upcoming ‘Hyrule Warriors Legends’; a Nintendo 3DS port of 2014’s ‘Hyrule Warriors’ for the Nintendo WiiU. The new character is named Linkle; a gender-swap of the iconic Nintendo mascot who wields crossbows, rather than the sword and shield. Here’s a closer look and the upcoming game and its new character:

Now, with this announcement, I feel as though I should get something off my chest. I’m the first person to acknowledge my right to voice my opinion. No matter if I’m right or wrong. I also enjoy hearing all of your opinions. However, this time around, I was debating whether or not I should write about this because I know for a fact that there’s a lot of people who may feel offended by what I have to say. But here it goes…What is with all of our memorable heroes getting sex-changes? First, there was The Master from ‘Doctor Who’…

Then Thor…

Then Ghostbusters…

Then Link…

Hell, you know what? It’ll be just a matter of time before…

Skyfail

Trust me, the last thing I want to do is sound “sexist” or sound like some “Meninist”. I love women and I believe in Gender Equality. However, it’s Gender Superiority that I have a HUGE problem with. That’s from either side, there is no black and white or good and evil with me when it comes to that sort of thing. No man should have more rights than a woman, nor should should a woman have more rights than a man. Don’t believe me? It’s not just male characters I’m talking about. I would be just as mad if someone took an iconic female character and made her a man. If we took icons like Princess Leia, Ellen Ripley, Sarah Connor, The Invisible Woman, Supergirl and Charlie’s Angels, and decided to give them all penises, Zoe Quinn and Anita Sarkeesian would be pissed off!

   Oh yeah, I went there!…Look them up. The point is, we don’t go around messing with the genders of heroes you may have grown up with, so why do you have to have to mess with ours? Now that I’ve upset every feminists and feminazi in the country, how do I feel about “Linkle”? Well, unlike other characters who got the gender-swap, I actually don’t mind this one. Judging from the gameplay, I’ll give them credit for giving this character something new rather than just being a Link clone with a female body. In fact, I have a feeling that Linkle will also be a downloadable character for ‘Super Smash Bros.’ in the near future. I like to know what you guys think. Anyone excited to play this new female Link? Anyone dreading the idea? Do you agree with what I had to say or do you disagree? Feel free to leave your opinions in the comment section. Don’t forget you can also E-Mail me or reach me through Facebook, Twitter and what have you. As for me? I think I’ll start running…

“KILL DASH JORDAN!!!”

Until next time, Gotta Dash!

Update: The character of Linkle is in fact a completely different character and NOT the female version of Link. When the creators came up with the character, she was originally conceived as Link’s possible sister. I still stand by what I’ve said, and I do still think Linkle may be a good character. But, I will admit that I’ve made a mistake and that this was definitely one peice of information that I’ve missed. 

Written by Shane Moose

Videos & Photos:

Hyrule Warriors Legends(owned by Nintendo, Omega Force, Team Ninja & Koei Tecmo)

Doctor Who(owned by BBC)

The Mighty Thor(owned by Marvel Comics)

Ghostbusters(2016)(owned by Columbia Pictures, Village Roadshow Pictures, Pascal Pictures, The Montecito Picture Company & Feigco Entertainment)

Skyfall(owned by Columbia Pictures, MGM & EON Productions)

2 thoughts on “Dash News…Female Link Announced For New Zelda Game

  1. Linkle is not a female Link. She is an entirely separate character that has a very different play style and background. When the idea for her was created, she was envisioned as a sister character to Link, not changing Link into a woman. Did you not listen to what Nintendo said?

    Like

Leave a Reply

