Dash Tunes…A Nightmare On Elm Street 4: The Dream Master Soundtrack & Tuesday Knight’s Running From This Nightmare

Hey kids, it’s Dash. It’s time for another Dash Tunes already, I’d figure not to let you guys wait such a long time for the next one. In fact, I decided to give you guys two reviews in one. Don’t ever say I’m not generous! While I may be a 90s kid, I have a bit of a soft spot for the 80s. It just always appealed to me. There was always two reasons why I wish I could’ve lived in the 80s. Why? Because, that decade had better Horror movies AND better music. With that said, lend me your ears as I tell you a tale of one of the greatest Horror movie soundtracks ever made, as well as one of the greatest cult singles ever made. So, set that Starbucks coffee aside and start downing that ZzzQuil…because we’re about to go balls-deep into this nightmare, bitch! HA HA HA HA HA!

  As many of you may already know, the 80s was a great time to be a ‘Nightmare On Elm Street’ fan. Back in that decade, Freddy Krueger was THE Horror Icon. The character was literally inescapable, especially with the MTV crowd back then. So it only made sense that they feature a few songs from the Rock, Pop and New Wave genre to tie-in with what would eventually become the highest-grossing entry in the original series, 1988’s ‘A Nightmare On Elm Street 4: The Dream Master’. While this particular sequel remains one of my favorites from the franchise, I won’t deny that the film is inferior to its much-more memorable predecessor, ‘A Nightmare On Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors’. Especially with its two hit songs from Heavy Metal band, Dokken; ‘Into The Fire’ and the film’s theme song ‘Dream Warriors’. However, one thing that ‘The Dream Master’ has over ‘Dream Warriors’ is this…’Dream Warriors’ had two amazing songs, while ‘The Dream Master’…had nine!

   I know! Nine out of ten songs in the entire soundtrack that are all amazing and catchy. Hell, it was hard for me to think of a song from this album that I didn’t like. I can only mention my least favorite song, that being ‘Standing Over You’ by Angels From Angel City. It’s not a bad song, it just didn’t do anything for me personally. Out of all the songs on this soundtrack, this is the one I found myself skipping over the most.

The top five up above…I NEVER skipped! When I hear one of these songs playing while watching the movie, I can’t help but bring myself to start singing or humming along. Go West’s ‘Don’t Be Afraid Of Your Dreams’ being the perfect way to end the film, leaving a somber yet very inspirational feel to it. You also have the absolutely-catchy ‘Back To The Wall’ by Divinyls, Hair Metal ballad ‘Love Kills’ by Vinnie Vincent Invasion and the underrated ‘Therapist’ by Vigil; which actually seems to borrow elements from the ‘Nightmare On Elm Street’ theme. Finally, there’s the cherry on top of this nightmarish sundae…’Resurrection’, a simple yet haunting 3-minute sample of the film’s original score composed by Craig Safan. But, don’t just listen to those songs. This soundtrack has a few other entertaining singles like ‘Under The Night Stars’ by Sea Hags, ‘My Way Or The Highway’ by Jimmy Davis & Junction, ‘Angel’ by Love/Hate and ‘Rip Her To Shreds’ by Blondie. Listen to them and judge for yourself, I’m only giving you my own personal recommendations.

Shut up, Freddy! Now, I did say I have two reviews for you. Remember how I said there was nine out of ten awesome songs? Well, better make that ten out of eleven.

Remember how Patricia Arquette, the actress who played Kristen from ‘Dream Warriors’ got replaced by the less-talented and slightly hotter Tuesday Knight in ‘The Dream Master’? Yeah, she had a singing career apparently. The actress/pop star also lends her talents to the film’s theme song ‘Running From This Nightmare’ which plays during the opening credits, but is not featured in the official soundtrack.

I don’t know why. All I know is that this song is a perfectly catchy Pop song that screams 80s cheese. That, and the song also not only captures the feel of ‘The Dream Master’, but the entire ‘Nightmare’ franchise. I would normally grade an album in its entirety as suppose to just one song. If I ever had to just talk about one single, I would at least let you know if it’s worth listening to or not from now on. In this case, however, I will include it in my main review. It may not have been a part of the soundtrack upon its release, but it definitely earns a spot next to the original film’s theme and ‘Dream Warriors’ when you think of the music of ‘A Nightmare On Elm Street’.

Well, it’s time to wake up. Until next time, Gotta Dash!

Rating: 5/5

Written by Shane Moose

Videos & Photos:

A Nightmare On Elm Street 4: The Dream Master(owned by New Line Cinema, Heron Communications & Smart Egg Pictures)

Go West’s Don’t Be Afraid Of Your Dreams(owned by Mike Piccirillo & Sounds of Film Music/Lygon St. Music)

The Divinyls’ Back To The Wall(owned by Mike Chapman, Christina Amphlett, Mark McEntee, Richard Feldman & Chrysalis)

Vinnie Vincent Invasion’s Love Kills(owned by Vinnie Vincent, Dana Strum, Vinnie Vincent Music/Rare Blue Music, Inc. & Chrysalis)

Vigil’s Therapist(owned by Vigil & Chrysalis)

The Angels Of Angel City’s Standing Over You(owned by The Angels & Chrysalis)

Tuesday Knight’s Running From This Nightmare(owned by Tuesday Knight, Michael Egizi & Knight and Day Records)

The Matrix(owned by Warner Bros., Village Roadshow Pictures, Groucho II Partnership & Silver Pictures)

A Nightmare On Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors(owned by New Line Cinema, Heron Communications & Smart Egg Pictures)

The Notebook(owned by New Line Cinema & Avery Pix)

2 thoughts on “Dash Tunes…A Nightmare On Elm Street 4: The Dream Master Soundtrack & Tuesday Knight’s Running From This Nightmare

  1. Whilst I must gently chide you by saying, dude, Tuesday Knight is not less talented than actress Patricia Arquette-the two different versions of the character ‘Kristen Parker’ ( she’s even called KIRsten in Pt.3) are written quite differently from one another. That having been said this is an incredibly well thought out and written column. A perfect assessment of a uniquely all-around high quality film soundtrack. Wish that the powers that be would release a deluxe cd edition with ALL of the songs. Overall impressed

    Like

    1. Allow me to say thank you for reading my article and thanks for your comment. The thing with my kind of comedy is that is can be sarcastic and unapologetic at times. However, this was an older review, I was still trying to perfect my writing style and wouldn’t set out to hurt anyone’s feelings. Trust me, Ms. Knight herself wasn’t all too thrilled that I made that comment and is probably writing my name on her hit-list as we speak. Tuesday Knight is still a very talented person in her own way. I thank you again for voicing your opinion, something I encourage all of my readers to do.

      Like

Leave a Reply

