Dash News…Wes Craven Dies At 76

Hey guys, how’s it going? It’s Dash again with some very serious and sad news. I regret to inform you all that just a few hours ago, acclaimed horror director Wes Craven has sadly passed away at the age of 76 from brain cancer. 

The horror community has truly lost a legend. Very few of you may not have heard of him, but you’ve all certainly heard of his films. By films, I mean some of the most important horror films of all time, like ‘A Nightmare On Elm Street’.

‘The Last House On The Left’

‘The Hills Have Eyes’

‘New Nightmare’

And of course, the ‘Scream’ films.

   The strange thing is that there was no word of Craven ever being sick. Was there anyone who knew? Perhaps he may not have known, or he kept this all to himself. We might not ever know. This is all a shocking blow, especially to me and the rest of the horror community. I’m sorry if I happen to upset anyone. Trust me, I’m upset myself. Wes Craven is one of my favorites, he’s directed some of my favorite films of all time and created one of the biggest mouths in horror.

   So you could only imagine my reaction after hearing of this tragedy. Yes, this is a sad day. But rather than thinking about how he died, I will instead choose to remember him as one of the all time greats…not just in horror, but in film as a whole. I think I speak for everyone who’s ever had a nightmare like no other as a child or has had an all-night Horror movie binge on Halloween night when I say, thank you. Thank you, Mr. Craven for everything you’ve done.

R.I.P. Wes Craven(1939-2015)

Videos & Photos:

A Nightmare On Elm Street(owned by New Line Cinema, Media Home Entertainment & Smart Egg Pictures)

The Last House On The Left(owned by Sean S. Cunningham Films, Lobster Enterprises, The Night Co., & MGM)

The Hills Have Eyes(owned by Vanguard & Blood Relations Co.)

Wes Craven’s New Nightmare(owned by New Line Cinema)

Scream(owned by Dimension Films & Woods Entertainment)

Scream 2(owned by Dimension Films, Konrad Pictures & Craven-Maddalena Films)

Scream 3(owned by TriStar Pictures, Konrad Pictures & Craven-Maddalena Films)

Scream 4(owned by Dimension Films, Corvus Corax Productions & Outerbanks Entertainment)

Freddy’s Dead: The Final Nightmare(owned by New Line Cinema)

Leave a Reply

