Dash Tunes…Exinfernum: The Gutting Of God

   Dash here…So, here’s the deal. Since I’ve had so much fun looking back at some of my favorite Horror Remakes and making a whole Top 10 about them in my last blog, I’m still in quite the mood for more Madness and Mayhem. So I asked you guys to send out requests for any horror movie, good or bad, that you’d like me to review next. As I sit here patiently waiting to hear from the masses, I decided to look in my CD collection. All my stuff’s good so I could listen to anything really. Now…I’m still waiting to hear some requests. My thirst for Madness and Mayhem however, I say it has been quenched.

Well, I certainly am open to trying new things. Man, I’m just full of surprises. So is this particular genre of music. You may not know this, I have a very diverse taste in music. Heavy Metal, Hair Metal, Sludge Metal, Classic Rock, Goth, Punk, Horror Punk, Industrial and New Wave are typically my favorite genres. On occasion, I’ll listen to some Blues, some 80s Pop, a “little” bit of 90s Grunge and maybe some Rap(only the early 80s to the late 90s, if you were curious). Then, there’s stuff like Death Metal and Black Metal. I used to not be able to get into those genres, not to say I didn’t respect those genres or anyone who listens to that sort of thing because I do. However, the whole thing used to never really appeal to me. Then, a friend of mine gave me a CD of this band called Exinfernum…and now, I’m going to their concerts. What gives? I may seem normal if you see me in public, but this is pretty much me when I go to their shows…

Exinfernum is an independent ‘Blackened’ Death Metal band. Formed back in 2014 from New Jersey. That’s right, we got ourselves a couple of local boys here, kids. So far, they only have one full-length album, ‘The Gutting Of God’…Don’t let the album name enrage you too much, people. Even if you’re not a fan of what these guys may sing about, it’s still a fantastic album on a technical level. Members include Vincent Lepore(Lead Vocals & Guitar), James Cascao(Guitar), and the man they call Cerberus(Drums & Keyboard). After seeing them perform on stage on just a few occasions, I can safely say that these guys are the hardest working people I’ve ever seen. Given what most people consider “music” nowadays, it’s such a breath of fresh air to see talents who are all around my age, bringing me to a genre of music that’s usually not my cup of tea.

“But what about me, Dash?”

Damnit, Sky Ferreira! You don’t count!

As I was saying, Exinfernum managed to make me a fan from just one album. All because of one album, I find myself listening to other bands such as Morbid Angel. Speaking of which, I actually met the band at one of their shows and talked with their front-man. Not only is Mr. Lepore a huge fan of Morbid Angel and was inspired by their works, but he was the one that recommended them to me. Yes, who would’ve thought that a band who’s lyrics are all about religion, death, and good, old-fashioned dark philosophy could be some of the nicest guys I’ve ever met in my life and it was quite the honor. I guess it goes to show that you should never judge a book by its cover…or in this case, never judge a talent by his face-paint.

   I’m all for dark and chilling atmosphere, and this album has plenty of it. The songs I’ve posted up top, you could consider ‘Night Of The Wolf’, ‘Nocturnal Inquisition’, ‘The Sanguine Order’, ‘Embrace Me Thy Succubus’ and ‘Enter The Crypt’ to be my personal favorites from that album. Not to say that the album is perfect, however. If you were to twist my arm, I would consider ‘Sweeping Plague’ to be my least favorite song on their album…but a favorite, nonetheless. The other songs are good too, but I refuse to post…that’s how much I recommend this whole album. Hell, I’ve heard that whenever Chuck Norris farts, it just sounds like a riff from Exinfernum. Wanna try and disagree with Chuck Norris’ farts? I didn’t think so.

In my professional opinion, it takes some true talent to get people who either don’t know, don’t care or just don’t listen to this sort of music, and get them into this sort of music. Which is why they deserve your full attention. Especially for any of you guys in the Metal scene, or if you happen to own a copy of ‘Doom’ for the Atari Jaguar and you need some music for the background, you won’t regret picking up this album as I feel that it’s the perfect gateway-drug to Death Metal and Black Metal. That’s my two cents, gotta Dash.

Rating: 4.5/5

Videos & Photos:

Exinfernum: The Gutting Of God(Owned by Exinfernum)

Beavis & Butthead(Owned by MTV Networks, Paramount Television & Judgemental Films)

Night Time, My Time(Owned by Sky Ferreira, Ariel Rechtshaid, Justin Raisen & Capitol Records)

The Road To El Dorado(Owned by DreamWorks)

DodgeBall: A True Underdog Story(Owned by 20th Century Fox & Red Hour Films)

Leave a Reply

